About Us

History of Producers Cooperative Elevator

Producers Cooperative Elevator was organized by five individuals with a vision for the future. 

This unique group came together on March 9, 1943 for an organizational meeting.

Organizing Directors included M.L. Probasco, P.J. Wilkes, R. M. Battey, W. Earl Edwards and John A. Lloyd.
Despite difficult economic times, the organization obtained a charter and began business operations on May 6, 1943.

A contract authorizing the construction of a new concrete elevator was signed on October 11, 1945. 

The facility was the first modern 100,000 bushel elevator in Floydada. 
Current facilities boast six grain recieving and storage elevator locations, a fuel service location,

a farm store and a seedcleaning plant as well as liquid and anhydrous ammonia plants.
Growing from three employees at inception, the cooperative now employees 30 people,

making a substantial contribution to the local economy.

Steady growth of the cooperative necessitated to a storage capacity of 3,000,000 bushels

and total assets of the cooperative are about 5,000,000.00
The original 134 members have grown to a current membership of 432.